Florida DUI Laws and Penalties
A Florida DUI offense is a serious matter. Florida Laws have become more
strict with tougher penalties for offenders. Florida-DUI is here to provide the facts on Florida DUI so you understand the law
in Florida and you have the ability to protect your rights. We hope to educate people on the penalties of getting
a DUI in Florida, so they take precautions not to break the law. For those who are dealing with a Florida DUI, we hope
we can offer the insight and research you need to discover your legal rights and and the situation you must deal
with under Florida Law.
We have compiled many resources from Florida DUI Lawyers, the State of Florida
and other sources on the course of action to take when going through the legal procedures. Education on Florida DUI law and penalties
is the best way to get through a DUI offense. You can expect to pay for an attorney specializing in DUI as well
as fines, license suspension, DUI Driving School and possible probation or jail time.
Florida DUI Law
Under Florida law, DUI is one offense, proved by impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood
alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above. The penalties upon conviction are the same, regardless
of the manner in which the offense is proven.
If you have been arrested for DUI, and you refused to take a breath, blood or urine test, OR if you took the test
and your result is 0.08% or higher, you have only 10 days to request a special hearing with the FDHSMV to save your
license. Failure to timely request a hearing will result in a penalty of at least a six-month suspension (and
as much as an 18-month suspension) of your Florida driving privileges.
Florida DUI Lawyers know that under Florida law, DUI is one offense, that can be proved in one of
two ways: drunk driving can be proved by impairment of normal faculties, or unlawful blood alcohol or breath
alcohol level of .08% or above.
For those under 21, a breath alcohol level of .02% will result in a DUI arrest in Florida. Consequences and Penalties are also higher
if you have someone under the age of 21 in your car and your breath alcohol level is .08% or above.
>> Breakdown of DUI Penalties
Florida DUI Attorneys
Using a Florida Attorney who specializes in DUI offenses is typically a good idea. At the
very least, the Lawyer can explain the law to you and what to expect. Most Florida DUI Attorney will
charge between $2,000 and $5,000 to handle a case on average. If you were falsely accused or you
believe your rights were violated, the lawyer's fee may seem like a bargain if your lawyer can
win your case. However, if you were driving drunk and showed visible signs of endangerment to the arresting
officer and the officer handled the arrest properly, don't expect miracles.
We have compiled a list of Florida DUI Attorneys that are organized by area. They may
prove extremely beneficial to you.
>> Directory of Florida DUI Attorneys
Research and Articles on DUI's in Florida
Many of our readers have requested that we provide more research and articles on Florida DUI. These
articles consist of laws and penalties relating to DUI in Florida as well cases which were dismissed or won
by Attorneys who found errors in the arrest or procedures of officers during a DUI Arrest. We also including
some articles on how a Florida DUI afffects your insurance rates, and coverage.
53 Things YOU Need to Know about Your DUI Case that NO ONE is Telling YOU - Article written by Michael J. Kessler, Attorney At Law in Ft. Pierce, Fl. Has alot of useful information on his website
on Florida DUI Law.
How a DUI conviction affects your insurance - What will happen to your Insurance after a DUI?
Florida DUI Loophole - The Florida Legislature voted to
close a gaping loophole in a state law that had resulted in hundreds of breath-alcohol tests being thrown out of court.
More Florida DUI Articles >>